Project: Make a SIP-based Videophone - possible?

Guest CoopsAtWork

Hi all,

Great site - which is why I'm here!

I'm an Android developer, and I'm looking to do some modding of my Commtiva N700 to try and help my Nan, who is deaf, and lives miles away.

I want to make my Commtiva into a SIP-based text-and-video phone, which is ridiculously easy to use.

The idea is to take an open source video-capable IMS client, rip out any complicated UI or settings and present a simple interface which displays a

contacts list from t'internet, current video call, and live text messages, so I can type 'Hello Nan!'

Since my Nan isn't interested in any other Android tomfoolery, she wants the device to simply boot into the application straight away, with no other applications accessible.

I've had a quick test of the water using the virgin device.

After alot of messing about with different Android client / PC client / Codec /Quality combinations, the best I can get is:

Transmit video / audio from PC to device.

Transmit audio ONLY from device to PC.

Anything more than this leads to corruption of the video feeds / lagging / stuttering and all sorts of confusion.

I can't belive this is the best that this 600MHz processor can do!

So, before I tear my lovely Commtiva to bits I've come to you for some advice. If you have time to answer some questions, I'd really appreciate it.

Here we go then:

1. Am I correct in assuming that when you mod the device, you are able to add and remove OS components and choose the start-up order?

2. Is it possible to remove all software components except those specific to the needs of my application?

3. Will this actually have any effect on the performance of the device? I know you were able to turn on hardware acceleration (which is a good start!), but I mean to reduce the burden of unneeded services and free up some more processor. Will this help, or does Android do things pretty efficiently anyway?