calling all the c coders

Guest Stephen Hyde

Guest Stephen Hyde

ok folks im wondering if their is any skilled c coders in here who can hack and edit compiled library files (.so files) as im thinking of trying to reverse engineer dells audio changes but its way above my skills in that respect

Guest jmhalder

which .so files specifically, could you post them up? I'm not a coder, but why are they not usable? I've heard them referenced SO many times, but have never truly understood the dilemma.

Guest popetodd
which .so files specifically, could you post them up? I'm not a coder, but why are they not usable? I've heard them referenced SO many times, but have never truly understood the dilemma.

If you are not a coder then he is not talking to you.

You would have NO idea what to do.

They are shared object (.so) libraries, they contain the code routines that the binaries link to to run.

Whoever does the job for you Steve will also need to know assembly, the code disassemblers usually output the decompiled machine code in assembly language.

Guest CodaWolf
yep i know, theirs apps like idapro that supposedly can help but i cant get my head round said app :(

while it should be possible to create assembly for the files, I would think that getting anything useful out of them will be tough. I have had the misfortune of trying to do this for an old proprietary system that my organisation lost the source code for we had to abandon it due to time constraints.

I guess the real question is what kind of changes or information do you need from the files.

Guest XsCode

By 'Eck that's a bit harsh!

I'm a coder of 16yrs experience, and I have NO idea what to do either! :(

If you are not a coder then he is not talking to you.

You would have NO idea what to do.

Guest popetodd
By 'Eck that's a bit harsh!

I'm a coder of 16yrs experience, and I have NO idea what to do either! :(

Perhaps. :(

Fact is it's not an easy job.