Can someone explain to me what is happening?

Guest schprlock

Guest schprlock

I really can't think of a good reason. Lots (well, some) of devices have hardware keyboards, there are hardware controllers for games, but games only use accelerometers and on-screen controls.

I am a developer, even if I don't develop for Android, and I know how easy it is to add keyboard support to a game.

Games like Labyrinth are supposed to be played with accelerometers and they are great, as is Majesty with the touch screen, but most games were designed to be played with a gamepad, and as much as Apple (and Google, nowadays, apparently) try to tell us otherwise, playing games with accelerometers and touchscreens is NOT COOL and NOT even FUN.

Anyway, I am now thinking that there must be some reason for not supporting hardware controls that I don't understand, and I would really appreciate if anybody could explain it to me.

I was just posting about how amazing the game Cordy is, great graphics, great playability, great level design and great controls, as it supported keyboard input. I updated it in the Market, dying to play the five new levels, and they just removed keyboard support! Why? Why would they do that? Is there some legal directive that forbids them to implement keyboard support? Or is it important to keep the file size 7 bytes smaller? What? Why?

Really, as annoying as I may sound, this is important to me as a game designer and fan. If anybody knows the reason, please explain it to me. I'm off to uninstall Cordy, the ex-great game.

Guest trevor432990

Maybe when enough people are using the hacks for the Vega (and other android devices) to enable wiimotes, xbox controllers, etc then the tablet manufacturers will realise that people still want this capability and there is a market out there for games to be re-designed to enable these to interface as well. :D

Guest schprlock