Converting MKV files help

Guest mug2k

Guest mug2k

Hey guys,

I bought this tablet thinking it would play mkv files but it seems there is no play that we can use that supports mkv files yet until a vlc port comes (I saw this in the forum). Before I even received my tablet I had got about 30gb of mkv files waiting to put on it not knowing they weren't supported.

Now that I know I have to convert but my question is what should I convert the mkv files to, I am not very experienced with different file types regarding their audio/video quality and compression and also can anyone recommend me a converting program. Any help on this would be appreciated.

Thanks

Guest blcollier

If I remember correctly, the Vega (or rather Tegra) supports hardware accelerated decoding of H.264 files in MP4 containers. Grab a copy of Hanbrake and you should be able to use some of the default encoding settings - provided you remember to change the codec to x.264/h.264 and container format to MP4.

There will be loads of guides available via Google for setting the correct options in Handbrake.

EDIT: If you have the right hardware in your PC - such as any Nvidia graphics card above the 9600/9800 series - Handbrake also supports hardware-accelerated encoding, which makes things significantly quicker.

Edited by blcollier

Guest mug2k

Thanks for the replies guys but I have an ATI graphics card, HD 4850 but I heard there is something called ATI Stream which is smilar to CUDA. I will give this Handbrake a try cheers

Guest dfghggfgfd

Android actually supports the MKV-Container.

The problem is the used codec, specially for audio. You won´t be able to play AC3 or DTS on Android, best thing is to use AAC for audio, although mp3 should work too.