Is a Advent Vega right for me?

Guest peps1

Guest peps1

Hey guys,

Iv been looking for a budget tablet to use in my workshop instead of having my macbook in there. Basically my workshop has a lot of dangerous things in it that I don't really want to get near my laptop any more, like acids for etching, solvents, all manner of test equipment and soldering station......I even have a oven on my desk!

Im looking for a tablet that I can use to read wiring diagrams and data sheets in PDF format loaded in from my Mac/PC, as well as brows the internet for schematics in picture formats and print hard copy if needed.

Would also like to be able to watch things on it when im working, BBC Iplayer, Icefilms, youtube and the like (is loading movie from my mac/pc an option too?), as well as play audio books, and use as a ebook reader.

Im totally new to Android so not really sure if it what i need, but drawn to open-source software and the cheap Advent Vega price.

Could really do with some help from you guys!

Edited by peps1

Guest simonta

The Vega will do everything you have asked for with ease, and more, once you have one of the ROMs on here installed. The only thing which is slightly tricky is printing. I use Googles Cloud Printing Service but the downside of that is that it can only send a print job to a PC acting as a printer server, I can't use my wireless printer directly. From the description of your work environment, I think the only downside might be the poor viewing angles of the Vega. I suggest checking one out in a local shop. You need to be within about 20 degrees of the Z axis to be able to see much.

Soiunds like you are tech savvy so the ROM install should be easy for you but plently of help here if you need it.

The answers to any other questions you might have (will it get Honeycomb, how does it compare to an iPad etc etc) are already here in existing threads.

Guest Stevonator
Hey guys,