Honeycomb - Apps, security & Privacy?

Guest englishboy

Guest englishboy

Im completely new to this. Ive just started on my Android journey since buying the £139 Currys Refurbed Vega. :)

So while I wait for delivery Im starting to read up on what goodies I can do when it arrives.

My question is regarding personal info collected by Android devices and sent back without the users knowledge. Firstly! Im not overly concerned and I know that personal information sent back to app developers is useful sometimes. Im defo not an overly paranoid divvy, Im just interested :) As Android Apss number over 6billion now - the odd malicious App is sneaking through. So Im just curious as to what is being done to at least keep an eye on what is happening with personal info sent from your device.

(youtube vid) went on to show that even the harmless wallpaper APP sent your Imei & phone number back each time its used & that half of all apps on Android phones send personal info to the developers without asking.

The vega doesnt have a Simcard etc to have an IMEI or a phone number to send back. But as honeycomb becomes more used on tablets I guess other more detailed info will start to be sent back to App developers.

So. I wondered if anyone has run Taintdroid (or similar) on honeycomb? does it run? And did anyone find any surprises or anything interesting?

Cheers

Guest englishboy

Im completely new to this. Ive just started on my Android journey since buying the £139 Currys Refurbed Vega. :)

So while I wait for delivery Im starting to read up on what goodies I can do when it arrives.