T-Mobile Vivacity getting stuck at the T-Mobile boot screen

Guest jamie85

Guest jamie85

Hi all,

This is my first post on the forums - hope someone can help me!

I've had a T-Mobile Vivacity for almost 4 months now, and have had it unlocked for use on Giffgaff using the instructions here: http://www.modaco.com/topic/349128-how-to-rooting-unlocking-and-de-branding-your-zte-crescent-updated-now-complete/

This unlock worked, and I've been using my phone fine for these 4 months.

Recently, I've been having to turn my phone off-and-on occasionally as apps will persistently crash and result in a 'force close' message.

Yesterday I turned off my phone because of this, but now when I turn it on, it gets past the green Android logo but gets stuck at the T-Mobile logo, occasionally refreshing with the logo popping up again. I've tried removing the battery etc, and also turning it on without the SD card in, but to no avail.

Does anyone know how I can get my phone started again? I'm guessing that something keeps crashing whilst it is trying to boot, so that it can't get past the T-Mobile screen. I'm a novice when it comes to phone unlocking/flashing/ROMs etc, so I've not tried anything yet through fear of breaking the phone!

Many thanks,

Jamie

Guest CurtisAndroidSF2

Can you get into CWM by holding down Power+Vol- if so then just wipe cache and dalvik cache (under advanced) and reboot and it should be fine, if not do a full wipe (Format data, cache and dalvik)

Guest jamie85

Thanks guys. I'm at work at the moment and don't have the phone with me, but will try when I get home.

I did try holding power and vol - yesterday, and got through to a screen that just said 'FTM'. I was expecting an options menu, like when I unlocked it...

Do I have to have the phone connected to my PC to see the options menu, or is it a problem that I'm just seeing the grey 'FTM' square when I press power and vol - ?

Cheers

Guest fr0do