Flash ROM to HTC Desire

Guest sussexandy

Guest sussexandy

Hi everyone, 1st post so please be gentle!!!!

I have an Orange branded Desire running android 2.2 that was received via an OTA update. I have unlocked the SIM so I can use a 3 simcard and take advantage of the One plans all you can eat data. I cannot get WiFi Hotspot to work and USB tethering is greyed out in the options menu. I have read elsewhere that Orange removed these features when the 2.2 upgrade was applied.

HTC support say that the "motherboard " is Orange branded and that no software update will enable these features.

I am not confident enough to root the phone but feel capable of using a RUU.exe file.

If I use an unbranded RUU.exe will it work or am I really stuck with an Orange phone.

Thanks in advance

Andy

Guest jmagee

My advice would be to go for root. I was a complete novice when I got my desire and I managed to root it. Using unrevoked if I remember rightly. Now on my galaxy nexus and I wouldn't dream of not having root.

• 4 weeks later...
Guest sussexandy

Although this section of the forum doesn't seem to be very active I thought I would update my experiences for any other newbie attempting what I needed to do.

Firstly, despite 2 HTC advisers saying it was not possible to change the configuration of an Orange branded phone I have successfully de-branded my phone.

You need a working Gold card, I made this using the excellent tool available on this site, and a HTC RUU.exe file from shipped-roms.com.

The first attempt failed using a Kingston SD card but the second attempt with a SanDisk card worked. I think the best advice I can give is to make sure you only connect your phone in "Charge only" mode except for when creating the Gold card. Also I found that the RUU would only run using a version newer than that already on the phone, but if your phone is Orange don't worry as they were nowhere near using the latest android 2.2 version!