G300 - I want to swap partitions AND install ICS, please help

Guest derei

Hello, I want to move on to ICS for my Huawei Ascend G300. I read about rooting, steps needed to install ICS and I think I can do that by myself.

What I don't know how to do is to swap partitions, as I have an external SD card and those 2GB of internal SD are just wasted. I would like to have that partition in use, instead of the ~750MB one.

Is this change Firmware independent? how to do it? Will it affect my android installation?

I'm just freaked out to not brick my phone.

Thank you in advance.

I'm a Android newbie... I just learned what ROM and FIRMWARE words mean :D ... so "ramdisk", seem to much for me right now.

Maybe we'll find out how the swap can be made.

Guest Dazzozo

Recovery ramdisk rather than boot ramdisk I presume?

No, the boot ramdisk needs a change. it needs to know what partitions are to be mounted as what.

Recovery needs to treat /emmc as /data and /data as /emmc instead, and needs to format and back them up as so, so they need switching there too.

Guest sandrogp

Would be great to have a step by step guide aimed at newbies as to how to make this changes to the boot ramdisk and recovery. Or am I being too ambitious?

I suggest you get yourself a text terminal app installed first, try out commands like

df, mount etc

RTFM on partitioning under Linux, Boot process and such ...

And think again.

You might even end up writing this tutorial yourself :-)

I suggest you get yourself a text terminal app installed first, try out commands like

df, mount etc

RTFM on partitioning under Linux, Boot process and such ...

And think again.

You might even end up writing this tutorial yourself :-)

Thanks for suggestions ... but at this point is like asking a monkey to pick assorted colors. It might be able to do it, if it mimics what it sees. But won't have a clue about what's doing.