TV Remote with a TWIST!

Guest hp324

i saw this application for pocket pc called total remote 1.01 that somehow uses sound to control tv and other IR devices. I am not that technically savvy, but if that works than it would seem that it would be able to work with a smartphone as well (or at least a versions modified for smartphone). So maybe there is hope after all. ;) I do not even have a smartpphone yet. Im in the US and waiting for the Motorola mpx. but that would be really cool (if not all that useful).

here is the link: http://download.com.com/3000-2153-10195213...tml?tag=lst-0-1

any thoughts?

There's a bunch of threads regarding TV remotes ... run a quick >>Search

Basically they wont work with the SPV or SPV E100 - due to some weird access to the IR ... not sure if that's the case with every smartphone, but at present time ... it's thought impossible...

well to get rid of false hope headers, we need a rule where they are followed by a quesiotn mark if it is a query or question regarding the header, rather than an exclamation, which implies excaiming something!

basic englash principal i would have thought.

Guest beersoft

all this talk of the ir not doing tv remotes is a load of arse.

every one of my pda's has done tv remotes (palm3x, palm3c,hp 525,toshiba 310) they all did it, the problem is the full api for the ir isn't about at the moment (too lazy to look, but it sounds good)

wtf is consumer ir? ir is ir it either goes beepo beep beep or beepbeepbeep you can confuse all the programable remote controls with a spv by sending bus cards to them when they are in program mode.

getting ir to do telly stuff is not that hard, its all pulses and time intervals and stuff.

look here for more info http://freshmeat.net/search/?q=irda+remote...ection=projects

later

Owen ( i might have made some of this up, but its friday + beer + nothing better to do)

The difference between math and physics is the difference between masturbation and sex. -- Paul Tomblin